Michigan Criminal Law Blog Articles

Michigan Criminal Law Blog articles from the attorneys at Bruce Law Firm

Our office is located in historic downtown Monroe, Michigan. Call today for a free consultation about your issue today!

 

Reckless Driving Michigan: What You Need To Know

One of Michigan’s most serious forms of traffic offenses is reckless driving. Reckless driving can lead to severe financial and legal consequences such as a costly fine, court appearance, license suspension or revocation, and even jail time. All drivers must understand what constitutes reckless driving to know how to keep themselves and others safe.

Our experienced team of attorneys at Bruce Law Firm is here to help guide you through this complex process and provide comprehensive legal advice on how best to handle a reckless driving charge in Michigan. Read on for an overview of Michigan’s laws related to reckless driving offenses.

What is a Deferred Sentence?

A deferred sentence is one form of sentencing in Michigan. The term ‘Deferred Sentence’ can be confusing. It refers to a sentence that is delayed until a later date. It allows someone charged with a crime in Michigan to avoid a criminal conviction on their public record.

If you are facing criminal charges in Michigan, it’s crucial to comprehend what this term means within the context of your crimes and the state’s legal system. This article aims to clarify the concept, implications, and specific regulations surrounding a deferred sentence in Michigan.

What is a PBT Test? A Comprehensive Guide to the Preliminary Breath Test

What is a PBT Test? A preliminary breath test, or PBT, is a type of breathalyzer used by law enforcement to measure the alcohol concentration in a person’s breath. This chemical test is usually administered roadside and helps police officers determine if a driver is intoxicated.

This comprehensive guide will discuss everything you need to know about the preliminary breathalyzer test! We’ll cover topics like how the test works, what the results mean, and whether or not you should take one if an officer offers.

Open Container Law Michigan: Everything You Need to Know

Michigan is one of the states in the US that has an open container law. Open alcohol containers in a vehicle constitute a misdemeanor in Michigan. This means it is illegal to have an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle.

Misdemeanor charges can include up to 93 days of jail and a $500 fine for having an open container in Michigan. Having open intoxicants is a severe offense.

We will discuss everything you need to know about Michigan’s open container law. We will cover what the law entails, which vehicles it covers, and the penalties for violating it. Stay safe and obey Michigan’s open container law!